Gifted and Talented Visual Art Program

Gifted and Talented Secondary Selective Entrance Program

The Gifted and Talented Education: Visual Arts program was established at Applecross Senior High School in 1968, it was the first program of its type in Western Australia, and celebrated 50 years of excellence in 2018. This prestigious Visual Arts program produces graduates who are highly regarded by tertiary institutions and the arts industry, due to an established tradition of excellence and reputation for success.

This unique Visual Arts program offers students the opportunity to immerse themselves in a range of highly specialised studio disciplines, during regular Saturday morning workshops, conducted by professional artists and practising crafts people. Our students benefit from exhibiting their artwork and being involved in community art projects.

This differentiated curriculum offers participants exposure to contemporary Visual Arts practice, current exhibitions, and collaborative involvement in studio workshops that provide a stimulating and supportive environment for the gifted and talented student. We help our students achieve their potential by encouraging them to conceptualise, explore sophisticated visual communication techniques, and develop a breadth and depth of personal investigation.

If your child would like to apply to enter this program, entry application is through the Department of Education Gifted and Talented Secondary Selective Entrance Team and can be found on the Department of Education website.

2020 Achievements

Lester Prize for Portraiture WinnersCindy Wang
Cindy Zheng
Mackenzie Stevenson
Meta Prize WinnersSean Cameron
Jessica Abreu
Louise Lim
City of Melville Youth AwardKeely McKeown
Peace PosterAmelie Quio – State Finalist
Sora Hamamura – National Winner
Perspectives AGWASean Cameron
Southern Perspectives GOOLAGATUP HEATHCOTESuzan Eyssautier
Kyro Carpenter
Alyssa Caswell
Rohanna Perez
Elena Morgan
Public Art Installation – MuralWestfield Booragoon – Civic Space in Limestone Courtyard

Year 10 Award for Excellence

2016Georgia Latto
2015Vanessa Cham
2014Georgia Latto
2013Annie Huang
2012Philippa Lewi
2011Jason Pranoto
2010Jhil Rudrum
2009Tatiana Joannides
2008Dora Foley
2007Leah Allegretta
2006Emma Buswell
2005Sandra Kerbler
2004Holly Campbell
2003Helen Kwok
2002Christopher Maxwell
2001Anna Willoughby
2000Sakura Motomura
1999Matthew Campbell
1998Dustin Voggentreiter
1997Aryanza Bizar

Year 12 Award for Excellence

2015Annie Huang
2014Rachel Boon
2013Carrissa Wu
2012Rachel Wong
2011Caitlin Rash
2010Imogen Bird
2009Leah Allegretta
2008Emma Buswell
2007Jim Riley
2006Rebecca Hutchens
2005Helen Kwok
2004Keegan Blair
2003Julia Koffel
2002Sakura Motomura
2001Matthew Campbell
2000Phoebe Chan
1999Anna Ellery
1998Barbara Samarin
1997Lena Minko