Specialist Tennis Program

The Specialist Tennis program offered at Applecross Senior High School was the first approved tennis program of its kind in Western Australia. The program is offered at our school to students in Years 7, 8, 9 and 10 and Physical Education Studies (Tennis) in Years 11 and 12.

Selected students will complete four hours per week of both practical on-court and theoretical instruction in all aspects of the game.

The Specialist Tennis program offers tournament participation, school representation, interstate and international travel and competition, lectures and instruction from former touring professionals and accreditation in coaching.

The program has been formally endorsed by the Department of Education and Tennis West and caters for tournament players. Classes are strictly limited to twenty-four students, and entry into the program is extremely competitive.

Students wishing to be considered for the course must pass a skills appraisal and be involved in regular coaching, pennant and tournament participation.  Selection trials are for students in Years 5 and above. These are conducted in March, May and July each year or by appointment should vacancies still exist. If numbers are limited, priority will be given to Year 6 students. 

An online application form can be filled out here

The second part of the selection process involves students having their most recent school report approved by the Applecross SHS Principal. For Year 7 entry, this will need to include a copy of the student’s Year 5, Semester Two report. 

If you have any questions, please email chelsea.church@education.wa.edu.au

Testing Dates

Testing dates for 2024 Applications are Thursday, 7th March 2024, Thursday, 16th May 2024 and Thursday, 25th July 2024.

Please view our Specialist Tennis Facebook Page for more information on our students’ latest achievements.

Where can the Special Tennis Program take you? 

Some Past students:

Astra Sharma (2008-2012)

Top 100 WTA player, 2019 Australian Open Mixed Doubles finalist.  Australian Fed Cup team member.  Division 1 tournament MVP for Vanderbilt (USA).  2015 NCAA Division 1 winner for Vanderbilt University and WTA points holder.

Brydan Klein (2002)

2007 Junior Australian Open Champion, ITF Junior World #4, Australian Davis Cup representative, ATP player.

Bojana Bobusic (2000 – 2004)

Junior Wimbledon, Junior Australian Open participation, Member of Australian 14 and under World Youth Team, Junior Fed Cup Team, USA College Tennis Graduate University of California. WTA player and Australian Open participant.

Rhys Johnson (2007 – 2011)

50 ranked Australian Male. WA State League Champion and Most Valuable Player. Current USA College Tennis Scholarship holder University of Vanderbilt.  Ranked #1 NCAA doubles 2015 and ATP points holder.

Scott Jones (2011 – 2012)

Member of Australian U14 World Youth Team and Semi finalist boys doubles 2016 Australian Open.

Applecross students have gone on to play on the ATP & WTA tours, gain USA college tennis scholarships, become accredited and highly respected tennis coaches, and participate in Men’s and Ladies State League Pennant.