Contact Applecross SHS

Contact Applecross SHS


Links Road
Western Australia


(P)+61 8 9314 9393


Important News

Important News

2019 ANZAC Service

Mr Dickson’s Year 10 HASS Academic Extension class were the chief organisers of this year’s ANZAC Service. Students were very respectful and this is great credit to all.


House Swimming Carnival Results - 2019

Applecross SHS held its House Swimming Carnival on Fri 1st March on what was a mild and comfortable day. The participation level was outstanding and there were some keenly contested races with exciting finishes and great individual and  team efforts.



Contact Applecross SHS


Our Year 7s have just had their first day of school after the Big Day In. The Big Day In is designed to help our new Year 7s transition into high school. During the two day program, they did such activities as, getting to know each other and make friends, learn about where everything is in the school by doing scavenger hunts, test themselves on the rock-climbing and high ropes course, the importance of realistic goal-setting, inclusion and thinking positive, as well being mindfull of their thoughts and feelings. The two days helped them to have a very successful first day at Applecross SHS and give them a great foundation to their first year in high school.


Mr Greg Shenker

Year 7 Coordinator



More photos can be found on our Facebook page.

Thank you to the efforts of last year’s Year 11 Coordinator Mrs Edwards and Mrs Hinton from Student Services, the Year 12 Leavers Jackets have arrived. Members of the Student Council and Mrs Zaknich helped Mrs Hinton hand out the majority of the jackets Monday after school. Despite the hot weather, many of the students could not resist trying them on.

The next big event for the Year 12s will be the Ball which wll be held on February 22nd.

We have a great group in Year 12 and I am looking forward to a fantastic year.

Brad Snell

Year 12 Coordinator



More photos can be found on our Facebook page.


Welcome to our students!


We are looking forward to another great year of learning, teaching and achieving personal bests. Happy New School Year.




More photos can be found on our Facebook page.

The Year 12 Presentation Evening on Monday night was a wonderful opportunity for our staff, family and friends to come together to celebrate our Year 12 students achievements.


Congratulations to our Special Award winnings:


P & C Award for Citizenship - Daniel de Lima

Caltex Best All Rounder Award - Carolyn Roe

Applecross Visual Arts Award - Isabel Bereczky

Sports Star Award - Hannah Burkhill

Australian Super Award for Excellence in Vocational Education and Training - Talia Sadak

Applecross SHS Dux Award - Brendan Shedley


We would also like to thank our special guests for attending the Presentation Evening and also the students who performed during the ceremony.


More photos can be found on our Facbook page

Congratulations Eva Mustapic on this wonderful achievement.


Click here for the Media Statement.


Ria Cutt from the Year 9 Academic Extension HASS class was invited to lunch at Parliament House for being named as one of the three state finalists in a Poetry Competition about the WA Parliament. While a Year 12 student from Southern Rive College was the overall winner, Ria was able to invite her mother and fellow Year 9 students Jeeya Sehgal, Harrison Edgar and Eva Mustapic to  see the announcement of the winner by the Honourable Kate Doust President of the Legislative Council and Dr Harry Phillips who was formerly the Chief Examiner for Year 12 Politics and Law as well as a long serving University Academic. Congratulations Ria.


Mr Brad Snell - HASS Teacher



More photos can be found on our Facebook page.

The presentation to the winners of the Western Australian prizes for the National History Challenge were held at Applecross Senior High School on Saturday October 27th. Although we had no winners this year, the History Association of Western Australia appreciates the efforts of Mrs Campbell, Mr Lloyd, the Arts Department and especially our Canteen Manager Mrs Millar in making the day a success. Two members of our Year 10 Academic Extension class also helped on the day. Lilli Coulson, a Year 10 Student Councillor and Renee Keating, who was a finalist last year, had the chance to meet the Honorable Samantha Rowe MLC who was representing the Education Minister at the awards. Congratulations to all the winners and their families.

Brad Snell - HASS Teacher



Congratulations to former student Joel Wynhorst, who has been awarded a prestigious scholarship by Global Voices to represent Australian on the world stage in talks on climate change and gender equality.


Click on the following link to view the article.…/melv…/20181016/281513637119726


Congratulations to the following winners of the Specialist Tennis Program Raffle


1st Prize 2 Nights Accommodation at Crown Towers Perth in Premier Club Suite, Plus a $500 Crown Gift Card Stanley De Zoysa
2nd Prize Lemair Wine Storage Cooler/Cabinet Coen Hall-Grande
3rd Prize $250 Tennis Only Voucher John Stedman
Bookseller's Prize 2 x Gold Class Move Tickets Kate Ralli


Today we held our Final Assembly for our Year 12 students. Congratulations to those students who won subject awards today. Congratulations also to our Year 12 Councillors for their tireless work around the school this year.

Subject Award Winners:

The Arts Presented by Steven Armitstead
Design Photography ATAR Mali Merttens
Design Photography General Britney Aliivaa
Drama ATAR Samantha Burt
Drama General Lili Wilton
Music General Tess Dwyer-Long
Visual Arts ATAR Isabel Bereczky
Visual Arts General Kathleen Lazuardi
English Presented by Peter Count
English as an Additional Language/Dialect ATAR Yuwen Ch’ng
English ATAR Carolyn Roe
English General Chloe Davison
Literature ATAR Julia Hanrahan
Health & Physical Education Presented by Lee Jarvinen
Certificate II Sport and Recreation Tonya Glogowski-Watson
Health Studies ATAR Amy Rae
Physical Education Studies ATAR Amy Rae
Humanities & Social Sciences Presented by Ben Kelly
Accounting and Finance ATAR Tess Dwyer-Long
Ancient History ATAR Mali Merteens
Ancient History General Chloe Davison
Career and Enterprise ATAR Alexia Husin-Ali
Career and Enterprise General Genevieve Miller
Economics ATAR Harry Booker
Geography ATAR Madelyn Cook
Modern History ATAR Niamh McConney
Languages Presented by Charisma Valerie and Sumika Nishikawa
French Second Language ATAR Anita Loschiavo
Japanese Second Language ATAR Julia Hanrahan
Mathematics Presented by Robert Nesa
Mathematics Applications Tess Dwyer-Long
Mathematics Essential Alex Hatzivasiliou
Mathematics Methods Brendan Shedley
Mathematics Specialist Brendan Shedley
Science Presented by Aniela Wooldridge
Biological Sciences Brooke Marshall
Chemistry Brendan Shedley
Human Biological Science Brendan Shedley
Physics Brendan Shedley
Psychology William Murphy
Technologies Presented by Darren Payton
Applied Information Technology - General Tal Landsman
Automotive Engineering and Technology – General Sam Giraudo
Certificate II in Visual Arts – Woodwork Tom Liang
Certificate III in Engineering – Technical Rojan Zedeh
Food Science and Technology: Hospitality – General Xinyao Liu
Materials Design and Technology Metals – General Victor Yaita-To
Vocational Education and Training/Careers Presented by Fran Van Oyen
Certificate II in Business Jake Eyers
Certificate III in Business Megan Dunbar
Workplace Learning Talia Sadak



Student Councillors:


Mira Bautista Sarah Gelmi
Emile Classen Natasha Main
Hannah de Fonseka Ella O’Leary – Head Girl
Daniel de Lima - Head Boy Sam Wende
Andrew Lim – Deputy Head Boy Rojan Zadeh – Deputy Head Girl


Photos can be found on our Facebook page.